1. General Hospital a not-for-profit acute care facility, has the following cost structure for its inpatient services.
|Variable cost per inpatient day||$ 200|
|Charge (revenue)per inpatient day||$ 1,000|
The hospital expects to have a patient load of 15,000 inpatient days next year.
a. Construct the hospitals base case projected P&L statement.
b. What is the hospitals breakeven point
c. What volume is required to provide a profit of $1,000,000? A profit of $500,000?
d. Assume 20% of the hospitals inpatient days come from a managed care plan that wants a 25% discount from charges. Should the hospital agree to the discount proposal?
2. You are considering starting a walk-in clinic. Your financial projections for the first year of operations are as follows:
|Revenues (10,000) visits||$400,000|
|Wages and benefits||$220,000|
|Medical supplies||$ 50,000|
|Administrative supplies||$ 10,000|
Assume that all costs are fixed, except supply costs, which are variable. Furthermore, assume that the clinic must pay taxes at a 30% rate.
a. Construct the clinics projected P&L statement.
b. What number of visits is required to breakeven?
c. What number of visits is required to provide you with an after tax profit of $100,000?